Mike Lucas has written and published several books of nonsense poetry, has had some work highly commended in magazines and contributed to Tadpoles in the Torrens, dedicated to Max Fatchen. He also had a poem selected by US Poet Laureate, Kenn Nesbitt, which appeared in One Minute Till Bedtime, published by Little Brown in the US and Australia in 2016, and another by Brian Moses in a 2021 Anthology with MacMillan UK.  

His first picture book, Olivia’s Voice was a CBCA Notable and in 2018 Vanishing was published. Bad Herbert, published by Larrikin House in 2020, arrived next. Let's Build a House, the first book in the Let’s Build series was published by Hachette Australia in April 2021. This will be followed by Let’s Build a Backyard in 2022 and a third title in 2023. His first novel, What We All Saw, aimed at upper middle grade readers will also be published in 2022 by Penguin Australia, along with a Christmas book with Little Hare Books.

Mike owns and runs a bookshop in Blackwood, South Australia. Each year he writes a poem with the CBCA Book Week theme as a title. In 2017 he was one of the main organisers of the Adelaide Festival of Children's Books.

He also works full time as an engineer and is a black belt in Tae Kwon Do. He has very little time to sleep, but often thinks up a poem or two while he does.

Coming Soon

The Christmas Train, Little Hare Books, October 2022

What We All Saw, Penguin Australia, 2022

Let's Build a Backyard, Hachette Australia, 2022

Let's Build a House, Hachette Australia, 2021

Bad Herbert, Larrikin House, 2020

Vanishing, 2018, MidnightSun Publishing

Olivia's Voice, MidnightSun Publishing, 2017

CBCA Notable 2018

A Load of New Nonsense, 2008

Things and Other Stuff, 2013

Big Silly and Little Sensible, 2016